A senior executive from the majority shareholder in Mead Johnson Nutrition Co. has joined the infant formula maker's board of directors.

Elliott Sigal, chief scientific officer and president for R&D at pharmaceutical group Bristol-Myers Squibb has been elected to the Mead Johnson board.

Sigal and Steven Altschuler, president and CEO of The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, were both elected as Mead Johnson directors, the company announced yesterday (12 March).

Their election takes the number of directors on the Mead Johnson board to 11.

Last month, Mead Johnson, which makes the Enfa range of infant and children food products, was listed on the New York Stock Exchange. Bristol-Myers Squibb retains a 85% stake in the business.