Sir John Krebs, Chairman of the Food Standards Agency, today announced the re-appointment of Professor Douglas Georgala as Chairman of the Advisory Committee on the Microbiological Safety of Food. Professor Georgala's current term of office ends on 31 March 2001. His new term will run for 3 years from 1 April 2001.