At its first meeting on 18/19 September, the management board of the new European Food Safety Authority (EFSA) appointed Dr Stuart Slorach as its chair and Deirdre Hutton and Catherine Geslain-Lanéelle as vice-chairs.

Stuart Slorach is the deputy director of the Swedish National Food Administration and vice chair of the Codex Alimentarius, the United Nations organisation responsible for food safety.

Deirdre Hutton is the chair of the National Consumer Council in the UK, and Catherine Geslain-Lanéelle the director general of the French Ministry of Agriculture and Fish.

The management board will have the responsibility of ensuring that the new Authority runs effectively and efficiently.