The EU’s Standing Committee on the Food Chain and Animal Health today agreed to re-authorise as of 18 June the export of live poultry and hatching eggs from certain parts of the Netherlands, provided no further cases of avian influenza are recorded.

Restrictions remain in place for the five provinces with surveillance zones: Flevoland, Gelderland, Limburg, Noord-Brabant and Utrecht. No further decisions were taken for Belgium and Germany.

Restrictions that were still applicable in the Belgian provinces of Antwerp and Limburg expired on 11 June. They now only apply in the surveillance zones (10 km zones around the outbreaks). In Germany the restrictive measures will continue to apply in the part of North Rhine-Westphalia west of the Rhine until 24 June. From 25 June onwards they will only apply in the surveillance zone established around the single outbreak that had been recorded in Germany.