Tesco‘s incoming CEO Philip Clarke has announced the make-up of his executive committee, which will take effect when he takes over the reins of the UK’s largest grocery operator in March.

The company said today (27 January) that the executive committee, which has six members, will sit below the plc board. “Given that the size and scope of the business has grown enormously in recent year, it is now the right time to enlarge it,” said Clarke.

The new members of the executive committee will include Gordon Fryett, who will take responsibility for Tesco’s property strategy; Alison Horner, the retailer’s recently-appointed personnel director; and Trevor Masters, who is responsible for operations in Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia and Turkey.

The company also today appointed Mike McNamara as chief information officer, with responsibility for both IT strategy and operations across the group. He will join the executive committee, as will recently-appointed internet retailing director Ken Towle and Laura Wade-Gery, who was recently appointed as commercial director for UK clothing, electronics and general merchandise.

Tesco said it will shortly be appointing a group commercial director, who is also expected to join the executive committee.

Existing members of the committee are: CFO Laurie McIlwee; Tim Mason, chief executive of Tesco’s US arm Fresh & Easy; Richard Brasher, boss of its UK operations; Andrew Higginson, CEO of Tesco’s services business; corporate and legal affairs director Lucy Neville-Rolfe; and Asia CEO David Potts.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.