UK supermarket group Morrisons has announced that it has appointed two independent non-executive directors.

David Jones CBE, chairman of Next, and Duncan Davidson, chairman of Persimmon, have been appointed as independent non-executive directors of Wm Morrison, effective 21 May 2004, following the company’s annual general meeting.

These are the first non-executive directors to be appointed by Morrisons. Chairman Ken Morrison has previously said he regarded non-executive directors as a waste of money, but is now moving toward accepted best practice following his company’s takeover of Safeway, reported Reuters.