The Chairman of the FSA, Sir John Krebs, was today pleased to announce the appointment of three new Members to the governments independent Advisory Committee on Novel Foods and Processes, the ACNFP.

The New Members are:

Professor J Dunwell, Professor of Plant Biotechnology, University of Reading.
Dr J Fowler, Independent Consultant and Registered Toxicologist.
Dr C Meredith, Head of Immunology, TNO BIBRA International Ltd.

The terms of appointment for each of the above expires on 31st August 2003.

Biographical Notes

Professor James Dunwell is Professor of Plant Biotechnology at the University of Reading. His research interests lie in plant biotechnology and genetics and he has written many papers on GM crops in Agriculture.

Dr John Fowler is an independent consultant in Toxicology, Pharmacology and Pathology and his particular area of interest is in the toxicological evaluation of novel substances. Dr Fowler is also a registered Veterinary Surgeon.

Dr Clive Meredith is Head of Immunology at the Immunology Unit, Molecular Sciences Department at TNO BIBRA International Ltd. His particular research interests lie in the development of Models for hazard identification and the assessment of risk in the fields of Immunology, Food Allergy and GM Foods.

Notes for Editors

  1. The Advisory Committee on Novel Foods and Processes is an independent body of experts whose remit is :

    ‘To advise the central authorities responsible, in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland respectively on any matters relating to novel foods and food processes including food irradiation, having regard where appropriate to the views of relevant expert bodies.’

  2. The Committee is a voluntary body comprising a Chairman and Members appointed for their personal expertise and not to represent particular interests. The Committee’s main task is to examine the food safety aspects of novel foods and foods subjected to novel processes and advise the Board of the FSA accordingly.

Current Membership of the ACNFP


Professor J Bainbridge OBE, BSc, PhD, Grad.Cert.Ed(Tech), CBiol, MiBiol, SOFHT. School of Science and Technology, University of Teesside, Middlesborough.


Professor P Dale BSc, PhD, CBiol, MIBiol. (Molecular biologist/plant geneticist)
Research Group Leader, Genetic Modification and Biosafety Assessment, John Innes Centre, Norwich. Honorary Reader, University of East Anglia.

Professor J Dunwell BA, MA, PhD, MPhil (Plant Breeder)
Professor of Plant Biotechnology, School of Plant Sciences, The University of Reading, Whiteknights, Reading

Dr J Fowler PhD, CBiol, FIBiol, FATS, FRCPath, FRCVS (Toxicologist)
Registered Toxicologist and Independent Advisor.Honorary Lecturer at the University of Birmingham.

Professor M J Gasson BSc, PhD. (Molecular biologist)
Head of Department of Genetics and Microbiology, Institute of Food Research, Norwich.

Dr J Heritage BA ,DPhil, CBiol, MIBiol. (Microbiologist)
Senior Lecturer in Microbiology at the University of Leeds.

Dr C Meredith BA, MA, MSC, Mrc, PhD, (Immunotoxicologist)
Head of Immunology, Molecular Sciences Dept, TNO BIBRA International Ltd, Carshalton, Surrey.

Reverend Professor M Reiss BSc, MA, PhD, FIBiol. (Ethicist)INSTITUTE OF EDUCATION, University of London.

Mrs E Russell BSc. Consumer Representative.

Professor I Rowland BSc, PhD. (Nutritionist/toxicologist)Director, Northern Ireland Centre of Diet and Health at the University of Ulster; Coleraine.

Professor T A B Sanders BSc, PhD, DSc. (Nutritionist) Head of Department of Nutrition and Dietetics, Kings College, London.

Professor H Sewell MB, ChB, BDS, Msc, PhD, FRCP (L) (G), FRCPath, F.Med.Sci. (Immunologist)Head of Immunology , Faculty of Medicine and Health Science, University Hospital Medical School, Nottingham.

Professor J Warner MB, ChB, DCH, MRCP, MD, FRCP, MRCPCH, FRCPCH.(Allegery expert)
Professor of Child Health at University of Southampton.

Professor H F Woods BSc, BM, BCH, Dphil, Hon.FFOM, FIFST, FFPM, FRCP (London & Edin) . (Ex officio member, Chairman of COT) Head of Department of Medicine and Pharmacology. Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield.