The Kroger Co. (NYSE: KR) yesterday announced it has completed the previously announced purchase of 15 Harris Teeter supermarkets in Georgia.

Fourteen of the Harris Teeter stores, including one currently under construction, are located in Atlanta. The remaining store is in Athens, Georgia. The stores join Kroger’s Atlanta Division, which includes 107 stores in metropolitan Atlanta and three stores in Athens.

Headquartered in Cincinnati, Ohio, Kroger is one of the nation’s largest retail grocery chains. At the end of the first quarter, the Company operated 2,380 supermarkets and multi-department stores in 32 states under approximately two dozen banners, including Kroger, Fred Meyer, Ralphs, Smith’s, King Soopers, Dillon, Fry’s, City Market, Food 4 Less and Quality Food Centers. Kroger also operates 788 convenience stores, 407 fine jewelry stores and 41 food processing plants.