US grocery chain Kroger has announced that David B. Dillon, president and chief operating officer, will be elected chief executive officer.

Dillon will succeed Joseph A. Pichler, who will remain chairman of the board.

Dillon has been president and a member of the Kroger board of directors since 1995, and chief operating officer for seven years. From 1986 to 1995, he was responsible for the supermarket, convenience store, and manufacturing operations of the former Dillon Cos., which merged with Kroger in 1983.

W. Rodney McMullen will be elected vice chairman and a member of the board. He will assume additional responsibilities in the areas of management information systems and logistics. Since 2000, McMullen has been executive vice president of strategy, planning and finance. He joined Kroger in 1982 and has held a number of key financial positions, including corporate controller and chief financial officer.

Donnie W. McGeorge, executive vice president, will be elected president and chief operating officer, and a member of the board. McGeorge joined Kroger in 1977. He was elected executive vice president in 2000 and has been responsible for Kroger’s corporate merchandising programs.

Robert E. Zincke, senior vice president, will be elected executive vice president to succeed McGeorge.

J. Michael Schlotman, group vice president and chief financial officer, will be promoted to senior vice president and CFO.