NAPERVILLE, Ill. – The National Farm-City Council, Inc., has elected its officers and new members to the organization’s board of directors with Gene Hemphill, New Holland, Inc., New Holland, Pa., named as 2002 chairman.

Hemphill heads up the Council’s executive committee, which consists of: Marcia Paterson, Milton Hershey School, Hershey, Pa., as vice chair; and Marsha Purcell, American Farm Bureau Foundation for Agriculture, Park Ridge, Ill., as secretary/treasurer. Walter Armbruster, Farm Foundation, Oak Brook, Ill., serves on the executive committee as immediate past chair.

Elected to two-year positions on the Council’s board of directors are: Marilyn Adams, Farm Safety 4 Just Kids, Earlham, Iowa.; Lynn Henderson, Doane Agricultural Services Co., St. Louis, Mo.; Robin Kinney, Minnesota Farm-City Committee, Mapleton, Minn.; Paul Till, Alabama Farmers Federation, Montgomery, Ala.; and Chris Sigurdson, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind.

Continuing board members are: Sherri Butters, Tioga County Farm-City Day, Wellsboro, Pa.; Janet Christensen, Massachusetts Department of Food and Agriculture, Boston, Mass.; Dr. Charles Eastin, Kentucky Farm-City Council, Lexington, Ky.; Jim Ebbinghaus, Equipment Manufacturers Institute, Chicago, Ill.; Sally Oxenhandler, Missouri Department of Agriculture, Jefferson, Mo.; Gary Shafer, Harris Trust and Saving Bank, Chicago; Paul Till, Alabama Farmers Federation, Montgomery, Ala.; and Katherine Trent, Philip Morris
Management Corp., Richmond, Va. Charlie Kampa, KJJK-FM, Fergus Falls, Minn., serves as the designated member representing the National Association of Farm Broadcasters.
Established in 1955, the role of the National Farm-City Council is to encourage understanding, increase cooperation and solidify relations between rural and urban residents. National Farm-City Week, the seven days leading up to and including Thanksgiving, is the focus of activities for the organization.