The Mexican Agriculture Department has said it will lift restrictions on poultry imports from four US states – North Carolina, Maine, Virginia and West Virginia.

Restrictions on imports from California, Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania and Texas are to remain in place for the time being, reported Dow Jones International News.

In February, Mexico banned imports of live birds, eggs and poultry products from the whole of the US, after an outbreak of high pathogenic bird flu was detected in Texas. The restrictions were later eased, and will now revert to those in place before the ban was imposed in February, with the exception of the six states above.