Russia has announced plans to restrict food imports from a further four countries for their support for the EU's extension of sanctions on Moscow.

Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev announced Russia was banning food products from Albania, Montenegro, Liechtenstein and Iceland in retaliation for their backing of Brussels' sanctions over the Ukraine crisis and Russia's annexation of the Crimea peninsula.

The countries join the EU, as well as the US, Canada, Norway and Australia, as markets and nations hit by Russia's embargo. Moscow first introduced the restrictions – on meat, fish, dairy products, fruit and vegetables – last August in response to sanctions on Moscow.

In June, Russian President Vladimir Putin announced a move to extend the restrictions on imports from those markets for a year after the EU prolonged its measures against Moscow. Russia's ban is in place until 5 August.

Click here for our analysis of the impact the embargo is having on food makers in Russia.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.