A McDonald’s consumer in Florida has decided to sue the company over their incorrect labelling of McDonald’s French fries as wheat and gluten free.

In February, McDonald’s added “derivatives of milk and wheat” to the ingredients list of their fries, when previously they had claimed that the product was free of these potential allergens.

At the time, the fastfood giant tried to play down the incident. Cathy Kapica, director of global nutrition at McDonald’s, said: “Technically, there are no allergens in there and those who have eaten the product should be able to continue to do so without incident. If someone is really sensitive, they need to be aware that this product at one point derived from wheat and dairy.”

However, McDonald’s recently issued a statement conceding that wheat and dairy ingredients are used in the “natural flavouring” added to the frying oil. “For people with a milk or wheat allergy, this new and important information should be discussed with a health care provider,” the company said.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.