The US Department of Agriculture announced that US$1m in federal funds is available to defray the cost of organic certification in 15 states.

The Agricultural Management Assistance Program, authorised by the Federal Crop Insurance Act, will distribute money in proportion to the number of organic producers in each state. The states, in turn, will reimburse eligible producer for up to 75% of their certification expenses, up to $500.

Eligible operations must be located within one of the designated states, meet USDA National Organic Standards, and have received certification or update of certification by a USDA-accredited agent between 1 October, 2004, and 30 September, 2005.

The states are: Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Utah, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wyoming.